50 new ways to permanent residency in Western Australia

Semester One Avatar

Semester One


In its second year, Western Australia’s Designated Area Migration Agreement for Kalgoorlie Goldfields has been updated and over 50 more occupations have been added to it. Some of these are currently not in the Australia and New Zealand Standard Classification of Occupation list.

In its second year, Western Australia’s Kalgoorlie Goldfields Designated Area Migration Agreement (DAMA) has been expanded to cover 50 more in-demand occupations and three new shires.

These occupations can provide a pathway to permanent residency for Goldfields DAMA visa holders.

From 2021, the Shires of Dundas, Esperance and Ravensthorpe have also joined the program.

Melbourne-based Migration advisor Chaman Preet says that many states and territories have negotiated agreements with the Commonwealth government to address labour shortages being experienced by local businesses.

“These are labour agreements negotiated between the Department of Home Affairs and individual states and territories,” explains Ms Preet.

How does DAMA work? Click here to know more.

Till last year, the Kalgoorlie Goldfields DAMA program had 72 eligible occupations for sponsorship. This number has increased to around 122 in 2021. 

The age limit of 49 years for Skill Level 2 to 4 at the time of permanent residency nomination remains. The age limit of 54 years (cannot have turned 55) for Skill Level 1 at the time of permanent residency nomination also remains.

Within this DAMA program, the following Temporary Skilled Migration Income Threshold (TSMIT) concessions are available for these occupations:

· Aged or Disabled Carer

· Agricultural and Horticultural Mobile Plant Operator

· Slaughterer

· Shearer

· Personal Care Assistant

· Nursing Support Worker

· Meat Boner and Slicer

· Family Day Care Educator

· Child Care Worker

· Beef Cattle Farmer

Read full news...

Source: SBS